Government of Sindh

  • Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan, 74100
Add a review


  • Founded Date August 14, 1947
  • Sectors Banking Jobs , Engineering , Government , Management Job , Medical Jobs , Police Jobs , PSC Jobs , Teaching Job
  • Posted Jobs 0
  • Viewed 8
  • Founded Since 1947

Company Description

The Government of Sindh is the provincial government of Sindh Province, Pakistan. Its powers and structure are enshrined in the provisions of the 1973 Constitution, in which 30 districts of 7 departments fall under its authority and jurisdiction.

The head of the province is the Chief Secretary who is appointed by the Prime Minister of Pakistan. The Chief Secretary of Sindh is usually a Grade 22 officer, who belongs to the Pakistan Administrative Service.

Although the Governor is the head of the province on paper, it is largely a ceremonial function; and the main powers lie with the Chief Minister of Sindh and Chief Secretary of Sindh.

The province is governed by a unicameral system with the head of government known as the Chief Minister. The Chief Minister, invariably a leader of a political party represented in the Assembly, selects members of the provincial cabinet.

The terms Government of Sindh or Sindh Government are often used in official documents. The seat of government is in Karachi and thus serves as the capital of the province.

Executive of Government of Sindh

The Chief Secretary Sindh, as the head of the provincial bureaucracy, is the boss of the province. The Provincial Chief Secretary of Grade-22 is equivalent in rank to a Federal Secretary, is appointed by the Prime Minister of Pakistan. Under him comes the entire government of Sindh.

Currently there are only 5 Grade-21 Officers in the province.


At the ministerial level, each department is headed by a provincial secretary. The secretary is in charge of all activities of their department and in most cases is the chief accountant of their department. Provincial Secretaries are usually Grade-20 Officers. There may also be Grade-21 Secretaries, in cases where the post has not been upgraded to that of an Additional Chief Secretary by the Chief Minister.

Apart from the ministerial level, the Government of Sindh exercises its powers and function through departments and districts. The commissioners are in charge of the departments while the deputy commissioners are in charge of the districts. Commissioners reporting directly to the Chief Secretary are responsible for everything in their divisions. There are 6 Divisions, namely; Karachi, Hyderabad, Sukkur, Larkana, Mirpurkhas and Shaheed Benazirbad. Commissioners are usually officers of the rank of Grade-20 while the Commissioner Karachi Division is of the Grade-21 rank as Karachi Division is the main division in all of Pakistan.

Click Here to Check the Latest Sindh Govt Jobs

Leave Your Review

  • Overall Rating 0