Government of Punjab

  • Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan, 42000
Add a review
  • Social Links:


  • Founded Date August 14, 1947
  • Sectors Banking Jobs , Engineering , Government , Management Job , Medical Jobs , Police Jobs , PSC Jobs , Teaching Job
  • Posted Jobs 1
  • Viewed 16
  • Founded Since 1947

Company Description

Government of the Punjab

The Government of the Punjab is a provincial government in the federal structure of Pakistan and is located in Lahore, the capital of the Punjab province.

The province of Punjab is the most populous region in the country and is home to the Punjabis and several other groups. Neighboring areas include Sindh to the south, Balochistan and Federally Administered Tribal Areas to the west, the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (formerly North West Frontier Province (NWFP)), Azad Kashmir, Indian Jammu, Kashmir, Ladakh and Islamabad to the north, and the Indian Punjab and Rajasthan to the east.

The main languages ​​are Punjabi and Urdu and the provincial capital is Lahore. The name Punjab literally translates from Persian in the words ‘Panj’ (پانج) five, and ‘Aab’ (آب) water respectively, which can be translated as “five water” (hence the poetic name Land of the Five Rivers) , referring to the rivers Beas, Ravi, Sutlej, Chenab and Jhelum. Part of the Indus River is also in Punjab, but it is not considered one of the “five” rivers.

Departments of Government of Punjab

There are 41 branches in the government of Punjab. Each department is headed by a provincial minister (elected member of the provincial assembly) and a provincial secretary (an official usually BPS-20, 21 or BPS-22). All ministers report to the Chief Minister who is the Chief Executive; and all secretaries report to Chief Secretary Punjab, a bureaucrat of BPS-22. The Chief Secretary is appointed by the Prime Minister of Pakistan.

In addition to these departments, there are several autonomous bodies and affiliated departments that report directly to the secretaries or the chief secretary.[2] Punjab is the largest province by population. For better management, a sub-secretariat and additional Inspector General (IG) South Punjab office in Multan was established by the government.


The Punjab Assembly is a unicameral legislature with 297 elected members, 66 seats reserved for women and 8 seats reserved for non-Muslims)

Click Here to Apply for Latest Govt Jobs

Leave Your Review

  • Overall Rating 0